The Noravank Monastery is situated deep in the Noravank canyon, and from a distance appears to be perched high on the flat surface of a rock, nestled into a majestic mountain. The main church of Noravank Monastery is St. Karapet was built in 1221-1227. It is the regional religious center founded by Bishop Hovhannes in 1339. The relief sculpture over the doors depicts Christ flanked by Peter and Paul. According to legend, Noravank housed a piece of the True Cross stained with Christ’s blood. A mysterious stranger acquired this amazing relic after he raised a child from the dead. A gavit, originally dating back to the 1261, was subsequently rebuilt in 1321 with the addition of close fitted vaulted roofing. That same year the sculptor and architect Momik added original work to the complex. To the north of the central group is a vaulted sepulcher by the architect Stranes, and the jewel to the south is the two-storied sepulcher-church of Prince Burtel Orbelyan, built by Momik in 1339. It follows the composition style of 4th-5th century monuments. Noteworthy are the interesting reliefs on the tympant at the first circle (The Virgin and The Archangels Gabriel and Michael) and the second circle (Jesus Christ with the Apostles Peter and Paul), and the Orbelyan princes delivering a model of this church they underwrote to the Virgin Enthroned. Some of the 13th-14th century buildings, though in ruins, attract visitors, as does a particular khachkar carved by Momik, with a Deesis (now on deposit in Echmiadzin). The gravestone-khachkar of Momik himself is also on the monastery premise.