The St. Sargis Church was built in 1450. Standing upon the upper part of Dzoragyugh and facing the old Yerevan Fortress on the left bank of the River Hrazdan, a desert-monastery functioned there since the earliest Christian era. St. Sargis Church, together with the desert-monastery, was destroyed by the great earthquake of 1679 but was rebuilt on the same site during the reign of Catholicos Edesatsi Nahabet (1691-1705). The present St. Sargis Church was rebuilt once again during the period 1835-1842. In 2000 a new gavit was added.